About Us

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Nebraska Dry Bean Commission is to develop, carry out, and participate in programs of research, education, market development, and promotion aimed at enhancing the profit potential and economic well-being of dry bean producers and processors in Nebraska.

Who we are:

The Nebraska Dry Bean Commission is a grassroots, producer and processor financed agency. Since 1987, the Nebraska Dry Bean Commission has been administering a check-off on dry beans collected by the First Purchasers on dry beans produced in the State of Nebraska.

The Nebraska Dry Bean Commission is comprised of nine members; two who shall be selected by the Commission and seven who shall be appointed by the Governor. Overall, the Commission is made up of six growers and three dry bean processor representatives.


Map of Nebraska

Processor Representatives

Brian Kaman
Kelley Bean Company
(308) 635-2338

Nolan Berry
Trinidad Benham Corporation
(308) 586-1010

Dave Weber
New Alliance Bean
(308) 762-8014


Grower Representatives

David Howell – District 1
Morrill, NE 69358
(308) 762-8852

Justin Relka – District 2
Mitchell, NE 69357
(402) 540-4011

Leander Hopkins – District 3
Bayard, NE 69334
(308) 641-8051

Cindi Allen – District 4
Ogallala, NE 69153
(308) 280-0285

Jeff Jenkins – At-Large District 1 & 2
Mitchell, NE 69357
(308) 641-3457

At-Large District 3 & 4



Dr. Jack Whittier
University of Nebraska Panhandle Research and Extension Center
Scottsbluff, NE
(308) 632-1254
Mitchell, NE 69357



Lynn Reuter
4502 Ave I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
(308) 632-1258